Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This was the prompt for the 28th of April for Microcosms Fiction.

Hi, y’all! Welcome to Microcosms 69. What intriguing delights do we have to get your flash fiction fingers flying this week?

I was beginning to think that I was overdoing the birthday thing as a basis for the contest post, until I discovered that this day, 28 April, in 1948, saw the birth of Sir Terry Pratchett OBE, one of the UK’s best-loved and most prolific authors.

He is widely known for his Discworld series for which he wrote a staggering 41 novels. He was the UK’s best selling author of the 1990s, and, according to the Wikipedia Discworld Portal, still holds the record for the most shoplifted books!

Some of my favourite Discworld novels are:

 The Colour of Magic (1983)

The Light Fantastic (1986)

Maskerade (1995)

Jingo! (1997)

Carpe Jugulum (1998)

Going Postal (2004)

 Sadly, Terry was diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s, and died on 12 March 2015, aged 66.

Large black fedora hats off to you, Sir Terry!

Geoff

Our contest this week begins with THREE things: character, setting and genre.

We spun, and our three elements are – character: Postman/Mailman , setting: Castle, and genre: Romance.

 

I didn’t like the original prompt, so I spun and got:

Vampire/ Forest/ Horror

Here’s my entry.

Forest of Nightmares

Ronel Janse van Vuuren

 

It was like a memory of a dream. Yet the wood splinters burning in my arm promised that this was real.

Arrows flashed past and embedded in the trees around me – near misses meant to kill. Another projectile whooshed close by, only my legs giving in under me saving me from certain death.

Blood. The scent of lots of blood not my own filled the forest.

I got back up, forcing my unresponsive legs to do my bidding. I could hear the hunters not far behind me. My night vision isn’t what it once was, but I could see sparks somewhere ahead: sparks marking the end of a life.

Bile rose in my throat as I saw what the hunters had done. Not even I, creature of the night, would ever do something so atrocious. Flailing on the ground, blood spurting from all the arrow wounds, a unicorn turned red in the moonlight as its life drained out of it.

It looked me in the eye, begging for help. I bent down, revealing my teeth, and ripped out the unicorn’s throat.

Blood, filled with anguish and nightmares, dripped from my mouth as I waited for the hunters. I hadn’t tasted the blood of anything but rats for the last couple of centuries. Tonight I’ll regain my powers as a vampire. No longer will I hide in the shadows.

The screams of the hunters lulled me to sleep at daybreak…

I actually forgot that I was busy writing this – blame it on nearly reaching the end of the AtoZ and trying to figure out what’s going on in season 5 of Teen Wolf – though I did figure out a few things before it got revealed at the end. I think I got the whole horror part of dark fantasy down now.

The judge’s favourite line: It was like a memory of a dream.

What do you think of the story? Did you enjoy season 5 of Teen Wolf as much as I did?

