Tags

, , , , , ,

August 2 question: What are your pet peeves when reading/writing/editing?

Honestly, I have a few. But like Frankie said, too few to mention.

“Regrets, I’ve had a few
But then again, too few to mention
I did what I had to do and saw it through without exemption
I planned each charted course, each careful step along the byway
And more, much more than this, I did it my way.” – My Way, Frank Sinatra

My insecurities this month revolves around the Grimm fairy tale retellings I’m busy with. I thought writing 20k during CampNaNoWriMo would be sufficient to finish the project. It wasn’t. I have the interlinking theme of the stories, I have some idea what makes them different, I even know why I’m writing them, but I don’t know if I’m capable of finishing them or doing them justice. Though I’d like to be surprised at my own genius when the project is done…

I was so excited when I took on this project only a few weeks ago. I knew then that the ten stories might not be enough. But I was hoping… *sigh*

I know that I’ve been distracted by the remodelling (which is almost done). I know that I’ve allowed myself to be distracted by spring filling the air – I mean, the blossoms are so pretty. (While my allergies aren’t.)

I also know that I’ve been struggling to write in Afrikaans. Let’s not get into the weird block I suddenly have to write in my mother tongue. Though it can be fear of failure…

While trying to get my stories right, other ideas have been popping up. I’ve even acted on one. Which is probably awesome.

I’ve realised over the last couple of months that my blog posts about writing platforms, social media networks and the like have been really popular. According to my blog’s statistics, those posts are visited regularly.

So I thought I’d share my knowledge in the form of a challenge. Mladen Reljanović, founder of Writer to Writers, agreed. So starting on Friday the 4th of August, I’ll share my knowledge every weekday (except for two subjects I have no clue about, but which Mladen happily knows a lot about) as part of the Basics to Author Online Presence Challenge on Writer to Writers.

Obviously everyone who already has a great online presence don’t need this challenge, but authors hoping to build their online presence will greatly benefit. It’s everything I learned in the last two years of blogging and building my own online presence.

And though this means writing 20 more blog posts and being online more than I usually am, I think this might be good for me.

To quote Bon Jovi: “Luck ain’t enough. You’ve got to make your own breaks.”

By writing non-fiction, I’ve actually felt freer to write the Grimm fairy tale retellings…

Maybe by aiming higher than usual (I’m also still writing posts for my blog and revising my novel), I’ve somehow found a way to be more productive…? We’ll see in September if my way of mixing projects really makes me a more productive writer.

Do you have pet peeves when writing/reading/editing? Are you being a productive writer? Any insecurities you’d like to share?

