Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

July 5 Question: What is one valuable lesson you’ve learned since you started writing?

Fake it ‘til you make it.

Being awesome, that is. Some days writing is hard. Some days you’d rather watch an Arrow marathon than tackle the rewrite of chapter ten. I’d actually like to see the second half of season five, but that’ll happen once I’ve finished rewriting the first half of my novel… four chapters to go! (Yes, a reward system does work when you’re a reluctant writer.)

Having a to-do list also works – especially when I do the hardest thing first every day. When I’m in drafting mode that means writing my blogposts. When I’m rewriting, it means my mind would rather work on anything than tearing a scene apart to get it streamlined – so I work on my novel first and all the other little things that have to be done can wait for later in the day.

Some things are harder than I thought it’d be when starting out. Some projects take years of writing, rewriting, beta readers, rejections, critique partners and more rewriting to get right. So when something feels overwhelming, I follow this advice:

I’ve been pretending to be different people looong before I heard this advice 😉

For more inspiration, check out this 19 minute video. I watched it again recently and immediately felt better about the reworking of a novel I’m doing.

Neil Gaiman 2012 Commencement speech: Make Good Art

Any valuable lessons you’d like to share?

