Tags

, , , , , , ,

This was my entry for Cracked Flash Fiction Competition on 28 January 2017.

The prompt was: ‘I can’t answer that! You’ll beat me up!’

Nothing’s Fair

By Ronel Janse van Vuuren

‘I can’t answer that! You’ll beat me up!’

Sam glared at Timmy. He shivered under her gaze.

‘You’d better answer. Now.’

Timmy swallowed.

‘Everyone always has more fun than me…’

Sam had a good idea where this was heading: Timmy always whined how life was unfair.

‘So I hacked their computers and uploaded a curse,’ he said the last very fast, cowering away from Sam.

She sighed.

‘It sounds like they keep repeating the same song, something about “nobody cares”, “life’s a nightmare” and other mopey things.’

‘Yeah,’ Timmy grinned, ‘they won’t be cheerful for a while.’

Sam smirked. ‘Neither will you.’

She cast a spell and Timmy immediately bawled his eyes out.

‘You’ll feel better once your victims do. Happy thoughts, Timmy, happy thoughts.’

The whirring of computers mixed with sniffling before Sam closed the server room door with a click.

twisted tale tuesday image

Listened to Simple Plan while writing this – especially I’m Just a Kid. I had this idea of magic and technology merging, so I wrote this to test out the idea. I think it will make a great novel (or two).

What do you think of this story? Anything you’d add or change? I always appreciate feedback, so don’t hesitate to comment.

