Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This was my entry for Microcosms Fic on the 9th of December. The prompt was: Character: Sheriff/ Setting: Blockade/ Genre: Memoir.  It’s not a long piece, but I’ve tried for something different since it’s a memoir.

 

When Darkness Turns To Light

By Ronel Janse van Vuuren

In hindsight, we should’ve set up the blockade earlier. By the time we’d started to freak out, it was already too late: the cold had slithered into our town.

That’s what happened when you think that vampires belong to the realm of the unreal.

The star fell from my grip. The veins on my hands were standing out like lines on a map; it had started. I shivered. The blue-black sky stretched on forever, as did the darkness in my town.

It’s too late to fight.

I pulled my jacket closer and watched my deputies enforce curfew. We’d been running on a nocturnal schedule for so long, I’ve forgotten what it feels like to have the sun on my face.

And now… Once the sun’s rays streaked more than the dawn sky, it would all end.

twisted tale tuesday image

Besides still being hooked  on vampires, I’m also still listening to The All-American Rejects while writing. I liked the idea of the blockade keeping people in. What do you think of this piece?

By the time we’d started to freak out, it was already too late: the cold had slithered into our town. Judge’s favourite line.

