Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This was my entry for Cracked Flash Fiction Competition on the 26th of November (though I did it on the 27th a mere hour before it was midnight PDT 😉 ). The prompt was: “I don’t require you to flatter me.”

red-candles-in-candelabra

The One That Got Away

By Ronel Janse van Vuuren

‘I don’t require you to flatter me.’ I watched the newest member to my team through narrowed eyes. ‘I do, however, expect you to obey me.’

I saw him gulp, though he tried to hide it.

The room was still, as if waiting for something to happen. Candles flickered in the breeze coming in from a window someone had carelessly left open.

I filled the shot glasses with the vile liquid and everyone took theirs. Even the new recruit.

‘Drink and live long. Drink and survive. Drink and hunt the scourge on this earth.’

Everyone shot back the tincture meant to keep them strong and healthy. I fingered my necklace of garlic cloves as I watched them gear up for another night of hunting vampires.

Maybe tonight a wrong will be fixed, I thought as the last of my team left. I felt the cool wind on my neck; cursing the idiot who’d left the window open, I turned to close it.

‘Hello, Amelia.’

My heartbeat slowed down. The red eyes were different as was the cruel expression on his face. But I’ll always know him: the one that got away.

I reached for my stake as he reached for me…

 

I’ve been enjoying the different types of vampires lately – from the gorgeous ones in The Vampire Diaries to the weird, definitely monster-ones in Holly Black’s The Coldest Girl in Coldtown. And, of course, I’d looked into the folklore surrounding vampires a while back and it had stuck.

twisted tale tuesday image

What did you think of this dark fantasy flash fiction piece?

