Tags

, , , , ,

nano-reflect-2016

November is finally over. Everyone who did NaNoWriMo this year has realised that there’s dust everywhere except for the used keys on their keyboards.

Every challenge teaches something new. NaNoWriMo is no different.

I think the hardest thing to realise after seventy thousand words is that not only will it have to be rewritten entirely, but the two novels that precedes it has to be rewritten as well.

But that’s okay. The vision for the trilogy is finally clear and hard changes have to be made. Better that I realise it now than when an editor or – gasp – reader points it out later.

kermit typing

I’ve learned that I can write through anything.

Writing, no matter what.

Writing, no matter what.

If I can juggle the aftermath of natural disasters, hiding from scary lightning, and other life issues while continuing to write (sometimes without any electricity around), then nothing can stop me.

Even those moments of crippling self-doubt and wanting to give up, pass eventually. I read on the Writer’s in the Storm blog that I’m not the only crazy one having ambivalent feelings towards this thing called writing.  And it’s okay.

That’s why having writing buddies, like the amazing Twitter group I’m part of, is essential. It gives this feeling of accountability and when you encourage others, there’s this instant upliftment of your own writing-mood as well.

I did a post on Thursday about the folklore creatures I used in the trilogy – especially in my NaNo project.  Maybe I should add more? I think I might have skipped a couple from previous stories…

The most important thing I learned this NaNoWriMo is that I definitely love the act of writing.

What about you, fellow scriveners: what did you learn in the last month? Did you do NaNoWriMo?

