Tags

, , , , ,

You’ve probably noticed that I’ve been conspicuously silent for a while.

Between not having electricity or internet access due to the flash floods we’ve been experiencing (cars were swept away, people drowned, trees broke and were uprooted, lightning took out whatever stood in its way – scary things were done by Nature in an attempt to right the wrongs brought by the drought) I’ve been unable to do much in the way of social media – including blogging. Besides, the turmoil some of you experienced politically even stopped you from reading my folklore post about Banshees I managed to publish Thursday last.

Let’s look at some pictures of the flash floods.

More images can be seen if you click the link.

More images can be seen if you click the link.

The rain came swooping in here in the rural areas as well. Truly scary. And magnificent.

The rain came swooping in here in the rural areas as well. Truly scary. And magnificent.

And though most reports of the flash flood are only about the deaths and damage, one should take into account how it affects nature.

And though most reports of the flash flood are only about the deaths and damage, one should take into account how it affects nature.

The weather seems to have calmed somewhat, though it will take time to fix the extensive damage done to property (including planting new trees).

On the bright side, I’ve incorporated all of this into my NaNoWriMo project. Not that I’ve had any contact with any of my writing buddies… I probably should apologise to all of them. And update my word count; after I’ve finished typing what I’ve written. I think I’m well on my way to my goal of 100k this month? Mm.

I really do want to go to a write-in. My region has an official one on a Saturday and another on a Sunday that’s a little more casual. But the scary weather has me in this (possibly) irrational turmoil: if I leave home, I might never return. I should probably explain: the roads that had the worst floods are the ones that will take me to a write-in. And after I had to drive (at night) during one of these scary storms… *sigh* Perhaps next year.

There’s a week left of Nano and I still have a lot to write. Adding the stuff about Nature being angry didn’t derail me, it actually helped to focus a few things. But I still have to figure out how to mend a relationship that was broken in the previous book – I’d rather write the fight-scenes and the big battle 😉

Hopefully my blogging schedule will return to normal this week.

How has the weather been treating you? If you’re doing NaNoWriMo, how is your project going?

