Tags

, , , , , ,

This was my entry for Cracked Flash Fiction Competition on 8 October 2016. The prompt was: “This isn’t what I meant by ‘invisible’.”

Open-Air

By Ronel Janse van Vuuren

 

‘This isn’t what I meant by “invisible”,’ Malachi hissed.

The crowd gathered around them, filling the amphitheatre.

‘Relax, no-one’s looking at you,’ Beau said, leaning against a tree.

‘Why would they? I’m lichen!’

‘And?’

‘I asked you to make me invisible, not unlikeable!’

Beau laughed. A few heads turned their way before looking at the stage again.

‘Sorry, bud, but you were a parasite long before I got to you.’

The music swelled and Malachi forgot who he was as he absorbed the sun and photosynthesis became his world.

 

twisted tale tuesday image

So, what do you think? I did another post about magic and witches earlier that week and I immediately thought about the different ways a request can be twisted by magic. Is there anything you’d change about this story?

