Tags

, , , , , , ,

This was my entry for Cracked Flash Fiction Competition on 1 October 2016. I’d been working on  my entry for a horror story competition and the elements of that crept into this story as I wrote it.

 

Expected

By Ronel Janse van Vuuren

 

‘Welcome, we’ve been expecting you.’

I stepped through the creepy front door, hands clenched inside my cloak’s folds.

‘You may remove your hood,’ the waif-thin man said.

I swallowed and ignored him.

‘This way,’ he swiftly led the way down a dark passageway, bypassing the magnificent staircase swooping to the other floors flooded with light.

We entered a strange room through a non-descript door.

A chandelier of black crystals dominated the room. I tore my gaze away from it; the woman lying on the bed moaned.

I watched her, taking in everything about her – including her extreme pallor.

‘When did the pain start?’ I asked the man who’d shown me in.

‘Half an hour before we sent for you.’

I sighed.

‘Boil water – lots of water. And send in the man waiting in my carriage.’

‘A man?’

‘I’ll need help if I’m going to deliver twins safely.’

twisted tale tuesday image

So, what do you think? I listened to The Cure’s Disintegration album while writing this – it’s very dark, yet fun to listen to. I actually had no idea where this story was heading as I wrote it. At first I thought it was going to be a ritual sacrifice or something nearly as sinister.

