Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Continuing on this new hashtag I created, here’s another entry from Cracked Flash Fiction Competition. This one is from 25 June with the prompt: She dreamed in black and white.

black and white film proper

 

Lights

By Ronel Janse van Vuuren

 

She dreamed in black and white. It was the only way to get through a day on the colourful carousel. In her dreams the world was in perfect contrast. A black-and-white chicken could actually be two if the light fell just right.

She woke up with a start when the black cat that haunted her dreams suddenly got green eyes.

The twilight room was free from felines. She looked up at the wall covered with photos she’d taken; all of them in black and white. There was a time when the photos had been her prison. Now they were her salvation.

Her cell phone lit up. It was another message from him. She wiped her eyes and sighed. The light caught the photo she’d taken of her suave husband and the socialite at the ball she was unable to attend. Her feet throbbed as anger coursed through her.

She forced her tired arms to push her away from the workstation. She turned off the light switch and the room fell into darkness as she manoeuvred her wheelchair down the corridor. One day when she was fully healed, she’ll refuse to wear high heels ever again. And she’ll stay away from cats. The combination was what got her into this mess in the first place.

Another message came through in muted light on her cell phone. Another apology. She should have chosen candour over charisma.

 

baw shoe

 

When I got the prompt I was all WTF? I always dream in colour. So I took a step back, watched an episode of Glee (yeah, the episodes with Jessie in are the best) followed by a perusal of my inspirational pics folder. When that didn’t exactly helped, I looked out of the window and saw a weird phenomenon: my pure black rooster had suddenly gotten a white behind. When I changed my view point, I saw that the newest addition to the flock – the tiny white hen named Tori – stood near Goku and that it was her backside I’d mistaken for his. Black and white… That’s when thoughts of how things appear in a different light can change how one views it. I also have a new weird obsession with cats, so added a feline to the story that actually deals with what it’s like to be married to Prince Charming.

twisted tale tuesday image

So, what do you think? Did you like it? Would you change something about it? Did you like the allusion to her socialite life before the accident?

“I was raised to be charming, not sincere.” Prince Charming in the musical Into the Woods by James Lapine.

Chris Pine as the Prince, Into the Woods.

