Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

ink flowing

No, I didn’t get a tattoo. *grin*

ink fancy pen

We’re only halfway through the year, yet it feels like a lifetime ago that I wrote my farewell to an Afrikaans writing platform in January. I knew then that a group of writers were working hard to establish a new Afrikaans writer’s platform (either through encouragement or actual organisational work).

But I wasn’t ready to join yet. I needed to build my author’s platform in such a way that having one site close wouldn’t leave my efforts in devastation.

To that end, I joined writing.com where I publish stand-alone short stories. I also discovered Wattpad where I mostly publish series – The Adventures of Saphira the Faery Dog in English and Afrikaans, Tales of the Onyx Labyrinth, and the newest project: Stories on Scrolls. Though I only publish one story per series per month, I find it a great creative outlet.

I’m happy to announce that I’ve finally found the time and courage to join INK – Skryf in Afrikaans (Write in Afrikaans).

INK logo

I’ll obviously start by republishing all stories (or almost all of them *grin*) that were previously published on WOES. I doubt that I’ll republish my poems. There are quite a few competitions running on INK and I’m quite excited to start taking part in them. Not to sound conceited, but Saphira’s stories kicked butt on WOES and I’m sure she’ll do the same on INK. (Once I actually start writing stories for the competition prompts.)

I’ve already started to publish Die Avonture van Saphira die Feetjie Hond on INK. Surprisingly (or perhaps not) it’s been read 1000% more on INK than on Wattpad. And scarily enough, the Afrikaans version of The Adventures of Saphira the Faery Dog had been read more times on Wattpad than the English version… Mm, I wonder which Faeries are playing with me?

I’ve decided to only publish one story every Monday on INK. That way I can be part of the community without it taking over my life again as it had last year.

Here’s the stories I’ve been able to publish thus far:

Feetjie Hond Prinsesse

Saphira die Spoorsnyer

Saphira die Vegter

Saphira en die Halfeeufees

Saphira die Swemmende Feetjie Hond

Saphira die Magtige Feetjie Hond

I also wrote a flash fiction piece for the winter nostalgia competition: Koningin van Ys. I’ll post this story in English as part of the #TwistedTaleTuesday posts next month.

ink table paper

I would like to thank Carin Marias for the reminder to join 😉

“The real contest is always between what you have done and what you are capable of doing. You measure yourself against yourself and nobody else.” – Geoffrey Gaberino

 

What about you, fellow scriveners: which writing platforms do you use? What’s your experience using them? How do you use them? Are you having fun writing short stories that are part of a series without knowing where the main story is heading?

