Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I made time to go out with my Red Hat friends this month. We went to the Saries Klub birthday celebration. The whole room was decked out in pink and pearls.

Our table.  our table

centre piece

back of the chairs

my place My place.

the rest of the room

Ingrid van Zweel and Phillip van Achterberg entertained with songs from Abba, Italian Opera and Afrikaans music – they were really good. All of my friends at my table sang along and had a jolly time.

Seeing as it was this ladies club’s 44th birthday, we celebrated with pink champagne.

we celebrated with this

Yeah, it really made singing along a lot less strange…

I even won a prize for best dressed – this lovely bottle of rose.

my prize front

my prize back

Who knew that channelling my inner Morgana would have good consequences? (Okay, perhaps I’m watching too many fantasy TV shows…) *I forgot to take a photo of myself. Will add one once my friends send them to me. 🙂 *

Ds Daniel de Kock was the guest speaker. I found him quite entertaining. His message of surrounding oneself with happy people, being happy and doing good whenever you can (even if it’s only a hug at the right time) really resonated with me. Especially the part about finishing projects… just last week I felt this jolt of happiness after finishing a winter jacket I’ve been working on for almost a year. (I finally know how to make buttonholes. Yay!)

“Happiness is not a destination. It is a method of life.” – Unknown

He also mentioned how small changes – like a new hairstyle or changing the type of clothes you wear – can positively affect one’s demeanour. Which, of course, is why I like to dress up when I go out with my Red Hat friends. *grin*

cover of programme

Going out on Saturday was a good change of pace. There were a couple of stalls where one could buy everything from printed pillows, paintings, self-published books from Daniel (cookbooks, personality tests, getting over depression, etc.), jewellery and beauty products to name a few.

jewellery stall

beauty product stall

I’ll have to admit when I heard the theme for the function, I immediately thought about everything pink and pearly. These images capture a bit of the crazy that went on in my head.

pink pearl headband hat – I just love this headband. I want one!

pink pearl vintage jewellery box – Such a pretty vintage jewellery box to keep my Red Hat jewellery in. Now to get one…

vintage elegant lady – A look of such elegance on this vintage cover.

strand of pearls – Pearls are so precious.

 

I forgot to take pics of the food… The muesli, yogurt and fresh fruit starter was absolutely amazing. And it was followed by a spinach, feta and mixed peppers quiche with a fig-and-strawberry salad. Oh how I love adventurous vegetarian food. Just a shame the main course consisted of every kind of meat… Ah, c’est la vie.

I forgot to take photos of actual people… I’ll add some that my friends took once I receive them.

“Life can give you a hundred reasons to cry but you can give life a thousand reasons to smile.” – Unknown

Do you like to dress-up? Do you hang out with your friends to do fun things? What does happiness mean to you? Did you finish a project recently? How did it make you feel?

 

Okay, I got the photos!

Ronel 4 This outfit won me the best dressed prize.

Ronel 1 Me, actually smiling on a photo.

Ronel 2 Finding out that the main course didn’t have any vegetarian options…

Ronel 3 With my BFF early in the morning.

