Tags

, , , , , , ,

A is for Apostrophe.

I learned something new this week.

Would’ve been awesome if it weren’t so tragic.

I was looking up the appropriate use of an apostrophe after a word ending in s while editing my Camp NaNoWriMo project, when I found something horrible. Words like MP3 don’t need an apostrophe when it becomes MP3s. Not anymore. Not for a long time. Yet, all through school it was drilled into us that abbreviations need an apostrophe and an s to become plural.

I’m shocked. Possibly because I’ve always prided myself to know these things.

I found this out in the little gem ‘Eats, shoots and leaves’ which is all about punctuation (written by Lynn Truss; ISBN 978-0-00-732906-9).

Of course, if I were American this wouldn’t have been an issue because they still use apostrophes for the plural in abbreviations.

I also write in Afrikaans. Where things are, of course, different. You need an apostrophe and an s to make acronyms plural.

Sometimes writing in two languages gets quite confusing – style, grammar, you name it. E.g. beter and better means the same thing but it has a different spelling in each language. It gets often gets confusing.

“Our work is the presentation of our capabilities.” – Goethe

At least I have my inner editor who fixes everything after the creative me had done her part. The inner editor is quite scary.<grin>

How about you fellow scriveners: have you ever encountered spelling/grammar/style rules that was contrary to what you were taught? What did you learn from it? Anyone else getting confused when they write in different languages? Have you done any editing/rewriting/editing on your Camp NaNoWriMo project so early on an April morning?

