Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

90s mania

 Though this outing to Emperor’s Palace meant leaving my fur-children alone (and who knows what new nonsense they’ll get up to – like eating the bulbs of plants who’d died-back due to the drought…), getting out with my friends was relaxing.

 

I usually categorise music from the 90s as angry:

“I hate the world today…” – Meredith Brooks, Bitch

sugary-sweet:

(any boy-band from the decade would do for this, but…)

“It’s amazing how you can speak right to my heart…” – Boyzone, When you say nothing at all

scary:

“Sweet dreams are made of these. Who am I to disagree?” – Marilyn Manson, Sweet Dreams

silly:

“I’m a blonde, single girl, in a fantasy world…” – Aqua, Barbie Girl

or a bit depressing:

“I’m a creep. I’m a weirdo. What the hell am I doing here? I don’t belong here…” – Radiohead, Creep

I’m not saying the music isn’t good – I know and like a lot of the songs from the decade. Even ones I’d rather get out of my head – something I really, really want, Spice Girls. (Ha! Now the song’s in your head.)

 

What I like about the Barnyard Theatre is the space around me. I easily get claustrophobic, but with the high roof and the wide aisles between tables (large wooden ones like in a park for picnics) I don’t feel like I have to crack open the person next to me to suck out their oxygen. The relaxed atmosphere and cover versions of popular songs enjoyed with friends make for a happy afternoon.

 

“Happiness comes of the capacity to feel deeply, enjoy simply, to think freely, to risk life, to be needed.” – Storm Jameson

 

How about you: what makes you happy?

