Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I wasn’t sure whether or not I should blog today seeing as I already did on Thursday. But just maybe I should get used to blogging more regularly (as in more than once a week)?

14th February means so many things this year.

When I found out that it was the date of Woes closing its doors for good, it was a date of dread. But now I see it as a date that opened me to more opportunity. Publishing on Woes and winning so many competitions there with The Adventures of Saphira the Faery Dog, I’d become almost relaxed in my pursuit of SEO. When you googled my name, my profile and stories from Woes filled the entire first page. (And that’s exactly what you want with SEO.) But with Woes closing, I went into a panic.

In the last month, I’ve joined the A-Z April Blogging Challenge (click the image in the sidebar to find out more), I joined writing.com and placed some of my work there (click the image in the sidebar to read my stories) and I even joined Wattpad and started my #FolkloreThursday pursuit to SEO awesomeness by publishing one story in my new series there once a month and blogging about it and publicising it on Twitter and Google+ (yeah, I joined Google+). [Here’s Anne R. Allen’s post about Google+.]

“Use every obstacle you face as a stepping stone to move closer to the life you desire. The more stones you have, the closer you are to your goal.” – Unknown

Most people associate the 14th of February with Valentine’s Day. It’s a day of flowers, chocolates, upside down arses (um, hearts) and great expectations that are rarely met.

john keats love quote

 

If you’re like Sheldon Cooper from The Big Bang Theory, you’ll equate the day with St. Valentine’s true story.

“Given that St. Valentine was a third century Roman priest who was stoned and beheaded, wouldn’t a more appropriate celebration of the evening be taking one’s steady gal to witness a brutal murder?” Sheldon Cooper asked his friends. (The Big Bang Theory, s03e15 The Large Hadron Collision)

Of course, in that same episode both he and Penny get sick on Valentine’s Day…

valentines day big bang

So whichever way you see it, the 14th of February is just another big date to which you can measure your achievements and goals for the last month or year – whether in love or work.

I entered Wattpad’s anti-Valentine’s Day writing competition yesterday. Go read my entry, Another Crack at my Sweet Valentine, and tell me what you think.

How about you, fellow scriveners: any goals or achievements you’d like to share? Or perhaps stories about your anti-Valentine’s Day vigilantism?

