Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been getting worried about my writing. With all the short story competitions I’ve made myself do and the writing group I’ve joined that’s really only into poetry and short stories, my novel writing has sort of gone on hiatus. Sure, I edit my YA novel and young reader novel whenever I get a chance. But short stories – especially about Saphira – have taken over my life.

I mentioned this at a family dinner – where most politely pretend not to notice the crazy – and didn’t elaborate when I saw my dad frown. Obviously I didn’t want to give everyone indigestion over my poor time-managing and lack of self-control so I changed the subject.

A few days later, I got an email from my dad with a link embedded.

NaNoWriMo.

Looks like gobblygook, but I opened the link that he’d sent without explanation. Wow. National Novel Writing Month. Exactly what I need to push myself to write that novel that’s been percolating in my subconscious.

I got emails from the Writer’s Digest about NaNoWriMo – and though that it was like all the other writing retreats that they sporadically email about. Most of those are in America (too far away and costly to attend). That’s the sort of information one misses when you only skim emails instead of properly reading them. Tsk-tsk.

The point of NaNoWriMo is to write 50,000 words in the month of November. There are a lot of writing coaches and cheerleaders to help you to attain this goal.

A lot of people complete their novels in time. Perhaps it’s the accountability, the coaching and the cheerleading that are contributing factors in that kind of word count?

So, let’s do this.

Now all I have to do is wait for November and a novel will miraculously appear – because I know myself. By then I should be finished with all competitions – and ignore any forthcoming ones I hadn’t committed to. And I’m sure Saphira can wait a full month without insisting on new stories. I hope.

But wait. What will I write about? I’m allowed to plan my novel beforehand. So what will I write about? Faerie, obviously. Rottweilers? The Faery Dogs are always welcome. Dragons? I love dragons. What else?

purple eastern dragon

What I like most about writing Saphira’s stories is that I finally get the chance to write about all the characters that appear so briefly in my novels. Now I can give them all a full story!

That’s an idea…

 

NaNoWriMo is an opportunity to try this new thing called New Adult. It’s like Young Adult but for varsity aged instead of teenaged readers.

NaNo-2015-Participant-Banner

I would like to announce to the world that I’m going to write a 100,000 words in November. 50,000 is a nice, attainable goal. I’d like to shoot for the starts and actually completely finish the new NA novel.

I will have to mainline caffeine.

Now I will first have to use the last precious days of October to plan this novel and get to know the characters. I will also have to write all my blog posts for November so I can only press a button to publish on time.

Mm…

Oh, for those wondering – Callum’s leg is healing nicely. I taught my wild boys how to play Frisbee. They prefer using the Frisbee for tug-of-war. At least they’re keeping busy. And the twins are growing again, hence their extra energy. Their second birthday is around the corner and they’re already bigger than Emmett who’s more than twice their age. One morning I’m going to wake up and find that they’re twice his size…

 

 “Every problem has in it the seeds of its own solution. If you don’t have any problems, you don’t have any seeds.” – Norman Vincent Peale

 

How about you, fellow scriveners: are you going to take part of this tremendous undertaking? Do you need a boost like this to start writing again? Or do you need some accountability to finish editing/ rewriting the novel you’re working on?

